Packing Day

The four-man crew of packers first words were, “this house is a lot bigger than it looks from the outside,” translated, “you have too much stuff!”  They ran out of supplies at 2:45 pm so today a very unhappy loading crew arrived and called for reinforcements to finish the 20% or so of packing left.

After thousands of decisions (“storage,” “sea,” “goodwill,” “no wait, we need that for Christmas, it goes in our airplane baggage”) I took a break last night to go get plastic forks and knives (because we forgot to keep some) and realized I felt nothing.  Have you ever felt absolutely nothing?  I should feel excited, or nervous, or sad but I felt completely neutral…nothing! I did feel tired, very tired.  Normally I jog 1-4 miles a day and even after a 10k race + 10 mile bike ride I never, ever feel sore.  Yet, last night my legs were sore!!  So, I did what anyone with any sense would do (for once!) and went to bed at 9 pm.

Then, this morning I work up at about 6 am and am feeling scared, excited, nervous, sad, everything!!!  I’m not sure if we’ll get done today (we’re supposed to start driving to California about 8 am tomorrow) but like a stack of dominoes, everything kind of depends on keeping on schedule.  I’m sure my lesson today and the next few weeks will be flexibility!

Now, the dogs on the other hand, are very nervous.  They follow our belongings onto the moving truck and then running back run back into the house to check on us.  They’ll feel better when they’re in the van on the road with us, all cozy and safe.

Well, it’s a beautiful crystal-clear bitter-cold winter day in Michigan.  We’ll miss it!  (really!)

About Kimm X Jayne

Gravatar Photograph from the exceptionally talented Ben Heine. http://www.flickr.com/photos/benheine/3794765860/
This entry was posted in Moving Logistics. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Packing Day

  1. I can identify with the “feel nothing” emotion (if that’s considered an emotion!) – and I think it’s really natural. It’s like your body shuts down after a while to protect you. Hang in there, and I’m glad you’re taking the time to blog – you’ll enjoy looking back at these memories!!

  2. Mikey says:

    Exciting times at Casa Jayne! Nice start to the blog.

  3. Maureen Witte says:

    Pictures were kind of sad for us. It was a great home. Where did all of the animals go? If this is from your blog, I did receive it via FB. Save driving!

  4. Vee says:

    Awwww … honey, I am gonna miss you guys so much!

Talk to Me!

