Out in the Bush (lite)

The power came on after about 22 hours.  We hope it (the power line) enjoyed its long spa vacation.  Having no idea how long food can last, we (get ready, I know this is gross) used the taste test.  We had kept the fridge closed so it stayed relatively cool but I don’t think food safety people recommend this.

Thom tried the milk, thought it was fine.  I sniffed it and thought it wasn’t (no way I was going to try it, let the taster try before the princess does).  Thom tried it again and said, yes, it’s ok.  I sniffed and realized that it just smelled different from American milk – more grassy or “whole.”  Thom drank some more and is still alive and well this morning so I guess it was okay.  I’m still throwing out the chicken lunchmeat.  Not even my taster would try that!

Regarding the taste, I can’t explain it but the meat tastes different too.  It lacks that drug-filled, corn-finished taste of U.S. beef.  Right now I don’t like it but Thom did an interesting study a long time ago and found that people’s taste preferences weren’t due to taste, but familiarity.  Thus, people liked the foods they were familiar with and disliked those tastes they were unfamiliar with.  So, as soon as I get used to it I’m sure I’ll grow to prefer it.

It’s odd having “nothing” to do but read or walk while waiting for our stuff to come.  We were so busy leading up to the move (physically and logistically) that it seems weird to have the exact opposite now — no tv, no radio, no internet, just the rain pounding on the roof alternating with the sound of wind through tall grass and bushes.  After jiggling my legs for five minutes while reading I got up, found the Zambian version of Windex, and cleaned all of the cupboards and bathrooms.  (I can see all my PW friends shaking their heads and saying, finish that book Kimm!)  There seems to be this red filmy grimy layer that settles over everything within a day or two of cleaning.  When that was done, Thom and I took a long walk in our “neighborhood.”

As you can see above, we’re out in the bush, as they say.  It’s the rainy season so everything’s nice and green here.  During the winter (June-August) everything will look brown and the lions will blend in better.  Thom and I both love being in the country but we’re used to tall hardwoods or grass pastures.  I’m sure I’ll grow to love this too as it becomes more familiar, but I have to say I do miss Michigan. Oh, and I have to say, as much as I complain, it really is cushy here and pretty easy to get things done, especially compared to Rome.

p.s.  I composed this post at home and came to an internet café to check my email and post this and of course, now the power’s out in this segment of town.  Some man just came in and said that they’re replacing equipment at a substation, there’s no malfunction, and that it should be on again in 15 minutes, which was 30 minutes ago.  Mind you, they chose to change out this equipment at 8 am on a Monday morning.

About Kimm X Jayne

Gravatar Photograph from the exceptionally talented Ben Heine. http://www.flickr.com/photos/benheine/3794765860/
This entry was posted in About Zambia. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Out in the Bush (lite)

  1. Lisa Murray-Johnson says:

    Sounds like you’re experiencing more downtime than you=Kimm the energizer bunny–is used to 🙂 It is a perfect time to start your books again. And get the art studio set up, and the dining group, etc. Just plan on a few meals that don’t require a lot of power 🙂

  2. Pat says:

    Hey Kimm,
    I’m enjoying your blog and missing SA. I thought the meat was better there. I remember reading that red meat is something like 17 percent leaner than American beef. I use to dread the water outage more than the lights.

    Good luck with the shipment. Out air shipment ended up arriving with our freight :(. Ahhh… Good times.

    It took us 9 months before our Internet was up and running. Once it was, it was super fast.

    Enjoy the ride.

  3. Maureen Witte says:

    Seeing that “red” road you’re hiking on, I can see why the dust will be red in your house. Glad you’re power came back on.

  4. Kristi Valla says:

    Kim I love your letters!! I smile and remember what it is like to learn how to live all over again in a different way, not in a bad way but simply different. We returned from California a few days after you left and I found that returning to Rome was as wonderful as returning to California……even when the heater is not working and someone comes to fix it and 10 minutes after they leave it breaks down again.(ROME!)…..now I am in their line up for Thursday..LOL! Through all of this I found my life to be richer, to be fuller and to be livlier(is that a word?). I am so grateful to have met you and your family along these adventures and I am looking forward to my room and board when I come to visit. Cheers!

  5. Mikey says:

    Great photo, but the song that instantly popped into my head was “I’m on a road to nowhere…”

  6. Bridget says:

    Very pretty. Any girl friend neighbors for you?

  7. Kimm X Jayne says:

    There is one — the wife of one of Thom’s colleagues. She’s the one who introduced us to this house. Also, the landlady’s mother is a hoot. She just returned to Zambia in October after living in Maryland working as a nurse for ten years. She’s into fused glass work and is having a kiln shipped here.

Talk to Me!

