Poor Ozzie…

…Not!  Here I was worrying that Ozzie might be lonely, forlorn, pining away for his mommy and daddy, but it seems that his auntie and uncle have taken a liking to him, and he to them.

Here’s Oz with my sister-in-law on their extremely expensive leather couch.  (Ozzie’s thinking, “hmmph, MY parents never let me up on their leather couch, I think I’ll just stay cuddled right up to this nice lady.  She feeds me canned food too and all I got in Michigan was that dry brown pebble stuff.”)

Thom and I have decided to give Ozzie to my brother and sister-in-law, who already completely dote on him, and he seems to be extremely happy with them.  Aside from him being happy in their home, it seems very unlikely that we would have been able to safely ship him over to Africa anyways.   The airlines all seem to reserve their bottom-of-the-barrel aircraft for their African routes, and these older planes have smaller cargo hold openings than the newer planes, which means we wouldn’t be able to enlarge Ozzie’s crate.  Further, he tends to be high strung and timid so it would be a pretty traumatic trip for him, and Great Danes don’t live very long as it is so we’d hate to do anything that would harm him.

Soooo, we’re really happy that he has such a great home where we’ll be able to see him regularly.

We finally got a fix on where our air freight is.  From the moving agency:  Your shipment was held up at JFK due to weather for 10 days, held up again in London due to weather, and held up again in Liege. Your shipment is currently in Liege, due to arrive Lusaka on Jan 16.

Of course, January 16th is a Sunday so this probably means we’ll get it on Monday.  We’re keeping our fingers crossed.  These two borrowed towels are getting grungy!  In the meantime, we’re really enjoying the warm balmy weather.  I went for a run today and it was so peaceful jogging in the middle of nowhere on the hard red dirt with the fresh green flowers and bushes all around.

About Kimm X Jayne

Gravatar Photograph from the exceptionally talented Ben Heine. http://www.flickr.com/photos/benheine/3794765860/
This entry was posted in Moving Logistics. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Poor Ozzie…

  1. Maureen Witte says:

    I’m not surprised that Ozzie found a home and people who love him so quickly. I REALLY liked him myself in just those few minutes that we saw him. Hopefully you’ll have your household goods soon. Nothing ever goes as well as one should expect, I guess. But it’ll all be over soon.

  2. Amy Bowden says:

    I love dogs. They just live in the moment. 🙂

  3. Vee says:

    Kimm… I may not comment on this often… but I read and reread every one. I miss you both. I am so happy and afraid for both of you. Jogging with lions around??? No power… no headlights? And I thought it was an experience to live on Guam…….

  4. Kimm X Jayne says:

    Awwww…I’m just kidding about the lions….there’s not even a monkey or mongoose around here. The only thing I’ve seen are birds. I think you have to go quite a ways out, like a few hours, to find any real wildlife.

  5. Bridget says:

    I am so jealous that you gave Ozzie to someone other than me!

Talk to Me!

