Watching water boil (& other pasttimes in Zambia)

One of the things I love over here is my electric tea pot.  Now I know these are common in Europe but I’ve never seen one in any household I’ve been in in the states.  They go from zero to boil in less than 30 seconds.  Watch here — the action starts around seconds 15 or 16.

(Sidenote:  There’s not much to do here in Zambia and you don’t want to be out driving after dark given the haphazard use of headlights, so watching a tea kettle boil is quite entertaining.  BTW, I found out why people don’t use their headlights, apparently the lightbulb/lamps are cheaply made and burn out quickly so people want to preserve their headlights for when they really need them.  In the US people put on headlights just as dusk starts; here they wait until it’s pitch black and even then often just use their parking lights.)

So, here’s how I start my day.  First, I prepare the wonderful local gourmet coffee (with a hint of chocolate and citrus, as noted below).

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Then, I measure it into the french press.

Then, I watch the water boil in the teapot in less than 30 seconds and add steaming water.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Finally, I pour it into a mug from my very favorite breakfast place in the world in Cadillac, Michigan, The Dawg House.

 

 

 

 

 

Then and only then, after my first taste of morning java, do I muster the courage to look down and see wait awaits me.

 

 

 

The Adorable Boerboel’s ugly mug.

 

 

 

About Kimm X Jayne

Gravatar Photograph from the exceptionally talented Ben Heine. http://www.flickr.com/photos/benheine/3794765860/
This entry was posted in About Zambia. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Watching water boil (& other pasttimes in Zambia)

  1. Maureen Witte says:

    Exciting stuff, ha! I would love a teapot like that. Only available in Europe?? Love your posts, by the way. Thanks for taking the time to write them…

  2. Kimm X Jayne says:

    I just checked online. You can get one at Beds, Bath and Beyond. Don’t get the Krups one though — it got across-the-board terrible reviews. p.s. thanks for the encouragement!

Talk to Me!

