Making Progress

Well, we have all of our common living areas set up and it’s really feeling like home.  I’m posting before photos (taken in September, 2010, when we first viewed the house) and current photos (with my paint jobs and our belongings).  I think both the before and after photos look great — it’s interesting to see what different people do with the same rooms.

Here’s the before/after living room:

 

 

BEFORE

 

 

 

 

AFTER

 

 

 

From another angle (the living room):

 

BEFORE

 

 

 

AFTER

 

 

 

 

 

And the kitchen:

 

 

BEFORE

 

 

AFTER

 

 

 

 

 

Guest room:

 

 

BEFORE

 

 

AFTER (this room still needs art work and decorations)

 

 

 

 

 

Here are some other rooms.

The guest bathroom.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Our dining room.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And of course, the unfinished rooms including Thom’s office…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The bookcases…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The boys’ senior high school portraits, ready for hanging…

 

I still can’t believe two are in college and one’s in med school already!  I’m waaayyyy too young for this.

 

 

 

 

And, of course, the room that’s the least unpacked is my office/studio…(priorities, priorities…)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

However, the guest towels are clean, fluffed and folded…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Home sweet home!

 

 

 

 

About Kimm X Jayne

Gravatar Photograph from the exceptionally talented Ben Heine. http://www.flickr.com/photos/benheine/3794765860/
This entry was posted in About Zambia. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Making Progress

  1. Lisa Murray-Johnson says:

    Oooh! Seeing you unpacked is so fabulous. My skin is tingling because I want to hop on a plane today to come for a visit. It is way cleaner than my home. I’m still decluttering my house (then again, I”m always doing that and it doesn’t ever get that much better–the kids keep getting more stuff!!!)
    Love seeing the boerbal on the rug guarding the guest bed, I’ll be missing higgins when we come so looking forward to having another dog to play with .

  2. Kimm X Jayne says:

    Did you notice the trivet on the living room table? Master carpenter JJ made it.

  3. Christy says:

    Wow- beautiful. Nice to see it looking so ‘homey’.

    Would you be able to touch on keeping in touch with family back home (I see you have 3 grown kids) and I’m curious how you manage to stay in contact so far away.

    Also, a funny question – about the spiders!! I remember these huge spiders in Zambia and haven’t been able to find a single thing on what they are. My husband tried to remove one from our guest house room, and he was FAST! We wondered if they were poisionous. Any ideas? 😉

  4. Maureen Witte says:

    Nice!

  5. Mikey says:

    It’s looking livable now. I want to visit!

Talk to Me!

