Fancy Dress Brunch

What do people do in entertainment-poor environments?  Make their own fun!

I met Emily in the dog obedience class.  She was 8 months pregnant, married to a Zambian physician (who got his M.D. in China in Chinese! smart guy), and had a cute little mutt named Tembo (means elephant).  One week her husband subbed for her in class because she had had the baby earlier that week.  The next week she was back, her tummy flat as can be.  She wanted to bring the baby but said sardonically, “Apparently it’s too cold to bring her out.”  The temperature was about 80 degrees. And, Emily’s from Minnesota, where it reaches 80 about 10 days a year.  But, who is she to argue with Zambian in-laws?

Anyways, little Tessa is adorable and must have been sleeping through the night already because a few weeks ago we received this email:

Hey ladies,

I wanted to send you all a quick note to invite you to my house for a girls brunch later this month.  Like the subject of my email mentions, the event is ‘Fancy Dress’. For those who aren’t sure what this means, it’s an outfit that’s anything from trashy to tacky to silly vintage to really really ugly. Basically, we are looking for something that’s generally hilarious, either to you, or everyone else (or hopefully both!). Thoughts include (but are buy no means limited to) 1980’s wedding dresses, afro wigs, leisure suits, anything with leather fringe…be creative!! I have not yet finalized my outfit, but I can assure you that it will include a feather boa. Because I realize that many people don’t have lots of flair or costumery lying around, an entertaining accessory or two will also suffice. And I will have some fun bits of flair available at my place if you are still at a loss.

Here are the details:

What: Awesome ‘Fancy Dress’ Brunch

Who: You and some other great women

When: 11am, Saturday, June 25th

Where: XXXX  (see directions below)

Why: Because brunch is delicious and dressing up is fun!

I’m figuring that I will take care of most of the food (bacon is my obsession, so I can guarantee that it will be on the menu in some form), but I am also asking that people bring something to share, whether it’s a special brunch dish, supplies for a lovely morning cocktail or non-alcoholic drink (I’m thinking bloody marys and mimosas?), or anything else you think others will enjoy as much as you do. Just let me know what it is you want to bring so we don’t have too much duplication.

I dug out an old broomstick skirt and a fancy schmancy fringed leather jacket my mom had given me from the days when she lived in cowboy country (close to Pendleton, Oregon).  It’s actually a beautiful jacket, heirloom quality really, but you can only wear it in the West without looking costum-y.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

A great time was had by all.

There was a jersey girl, complete with wig.

A mullet girl (no, those are not her real teeth!).
And of course, our lovely host Emily and her adorable daughter, Tessa.  (Tessa’s just realized what it means to be born to this mother.  She’s thinking, “What have I got myself into?!”)
There was a great food spread.  (The oven-baked french toast on the far right was to die for!)
And the drinks were flowing freely.
A great time was had by all — thanks Emily!
About Kimm X Jayne

Gravatar Photograph from the exceptionally talented Ben Heine. http://www.flickr.com/photos/benheine/3794765860/
This entry was posted in About Zambia. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fancy Dress Brunch

  1. Lisa Murray-Johnson says:

    That looks like a blast! I bet you all had a ton of fun.

  2. Sandy says:

    What a fun activity. This is great Kim.

Talk to Me!

