Goodbye Candles, Hello Solar Lamp

You would have thought it was Christmas here yesterday!  Thom gave Bernard and Danny their solar power lamps/cell phone chargers.


 

 

 

 

They were very surprised and appreciative.  After we went back into the house I looked out at our pool veranda and there they were, like a couple of little boys digging into their Christmas presents.  Kind of reminded me of Alex when he was little and would get a new lego set.  He’d have to open it and build it right then and there.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

(Notice how Buddy is never very far from Bernard?  He’s Bernard’s Buddy.)

I brought out a permanent marker so they could label their pieces and Danny said by way of explanation (and kind of sheepishly), we want to charge them now so we can use them tonight. I said I understood, I had wanted to do the same, it’s like a new toy and you want to get it to work right away.

They positioned the solar panels just so, checking the sun’s angles and adjusting their panels.  (Coco came over to see if the panels were edible or if they could serve as chew toys.)

The next morning I asked Bernard how his lamp worked and he said, it is so bright, SO bright, we really appreciate it!

About Kimm X Jayne

Gravatar Photograph from the exceptionally talented Ben Heine. http://www.flickr.com/photos/benheine/3794765860/
This entry was posted in About Zambia, Permaculture and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Goodbye Candles, Hello Solar Lamp

  1. Mikey says:

    Most excellent.

    Pool verandah, though. Did I miss the pool before? I’m definitely coming to visit now that the election has passed peacefully and I know you have a pool. Well, unless there are piranhas or something in the pool…

  2. Heather Kulaga says:

    That must have been a fun little Christmas 🙂

    Hey can I send you a Christmas card? Email me your mailing address at heatherkulaga@gmail.com, I’d love to send some cheer to you!

  3. Stephanie says:

    Coco has gotten so big!

  4. I’ve been using solar powered fencers to keep the horses in since the early 1990s. They really work! Not for long haired goats though – they don’t give a hoot if they are shocked.

Talk to Me!

