Packing and travel

We’re using AGS Frasers as our moving service from Lusaka to Michigan, and boy are they good.  The wrap everything in cardboard, including tables, chairs, couches (as opposed to plastic) and triple wrap glassware.  The dogs are a little nervous and don’t let me out of my sight, despite my reassuring them that they’re coming with me this time.

Thom’s traveling with some friends to Brazil for his every three years Agricultural Economics convention.  One of them wrote about how her luggage was lost and then two hours later someone came up and sheepishly returned her suitcase, which he had mistook for his suitcase.  I know the feeling.  All of those black bags look the same.  About 15 years ago, in a fit of exasperation after yet another case of mistaken suitcase identity, I bought a can of yellow spray paint and came home and painted big huge happy faces on both sides of all of our luggage, no matter how new.  Now, we can always pick our suitcases out of a crowd and it makes me smile to see them.

About Kimm X Jayne

Gravatar Photograph from the exceptionally talented Ben Heine. http://www.flickr.com/photos/benheine/3794765860/
This entry was posted in About Zambia. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Packing and travel

  1. Maureen Witte says:

    Glad to hear you have good “movers!”

  2. mbasil says:

    Wow, coming back in time for back-to-bac winters. Lucky you!

    • Kimm X Jayne says:

      Well, technically, this is just a visit for me to the U.S. that enables me to miss the most miserable time of year in Zambia (late Sept/Oct). Like I’ve told Thom, he gets so cranky when I’M hot…:) I’ll be back in Zambia in November and then return just in time for real winter in Michigan, but at least there we have central heat AND a wood stove!

Talk to Me!

