Homeward Bound

Well, despite us being in Zambia for another four months (with an extended vacation to the U.S. for me starting Tuesday!), our belongings have begun their journey home.  We’ll see if they really get back in 1.5 months, like they just told us this week instead of the normal 3-4 months, which is what we had anticipated (and why we wanted everything packed up now, so it would definitely be back before winter and by the time we got back permanently).

Here comes the container…

There was a big gash on the side, which I was not happy about.  They assured me it was welded and sealed and wouldn’t leak.  My response, well, I guess we have insurance if anything happens…

The movers here boxed up everything.  Everything!  Every chair, couch, table, etc. was boxed and taped up.  Guess that will prevent damage.  The only thing I didn’t like is that they took apart some tables and bookcases before I discovered what they were doing.  They said the movers on the other side would put everything back together.

Here’s the container ready to be filled.

Coco’s a little alarmed.

Buddy inspected their work.

Finally, after 4.5 hours of loading, they closed and latched the doors.

Then, the attached the lock seal.  I had to verify the number and the fact that it was sealed.  This is the security procedure they use to ensure that the client watches the lock being sealed, and then the client watches it (at the delivery site) being unsealed.  Pretty cool.

 

 

 

 

 

 

The plan is for this container to be driven to the port at Walvis Bay, Namibia, where it will be loaded onto a ship and cross the Atlantic, to be delivered at the Detroit port – a much more direct routing compared to the way it came (i.e., Detroit/Atlantic/Mediterranean/Arabian Peninsula/Dubai/Dar es Salaam/Lusaka).

Now, just a few more errands before the doggies begin their journey home. Prayers appreciated!  I can’t wait to see their wagging tails in Chicago.  🙂

About Kimm X Jayne

Gravatar Photograph from the exceptionally talented Ben Heine. http://www.flickr.com/photos/benheine/3794765860/
This entry was posted in Moving Logistics. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Homeward Bound

  1. Anonymous says:

    Will definitely be praying for you (and the doggies). As you know, they are just kids with fur on them. Looking forward to seeing you all in October! Love – Cheryl

  2. Anonymous says:

    I know you don’t know me. I came across your blog when googling “moving to Zambia.” I visited Zambia (Chipata area) about two years ago and totally loved it. I’ve enjoyed reading about your adventure. Thanks for sharing so much. I would still like to live there, but it probably won’t happen. I hope you and your pooches arrive home safe and sound.

    Andrea Melius (Kennewick, Washington)

  3. Sandy says:

    Prayers for sure. Looking forward to seeing you.

  4. lisa says:

    lots of love to you and the dogs. I keep praying the trip being effortless and easy for you all. Welcome back to the states!

  5. Yvonne says:

    Like Andrea above, I came across your blog while googling. We are going to be moving to Zambia, soon (visa apps are being pulled together). Would you be willing to “hold my hand” as we experience a new country? We are currently expat Americans living in Canada.

    • Kimm X Jayne says:

      Hi Yvonne! Of course, please feel free to ask any questions (I can steer you to someone who has probable answers). But, how can you leave Canada??!! My father-in-law says we should move there. Good luck on your trip.

  6. Jeff says:

    Kimm- good luck with the return trip. Lots of positive thoughts your way for all your stuff and most importantly that the doggies make it safe! Can’t wait to see you, Thom and the new place. I will surely have barn-envy!!!

Talk to Me!

